Eleven candidates are vying to be the next Windsor city councillor in Ward 7.

The municipal byelection to fill Percy Hatfield’s empty seat will be held on Dec. 9. Windsor city council made the decision on Sept. 9, after Hatfield officially resigned to become the MPP for Windsor Tecumseh.

One of those candidates is Laurie Komon. She ran and lost against Hatfield in the provincial byelection.

"I feel that my progressive views will assist the residents,” says Komon. “I feel (Ward 7) has been really neglected these days."

The 10 others candidates are Ernie The Baconman, Tosin Bello, Robert Mitchell Bialkowski, Steve Farrell, Robin L. Fortier, Stavros (Steve) Gavrilidis, Irek Kusmierczyk, Angelo Marignani, Clint Weir and Tom Wilson.

Nominations for the seat closed at 2 p.m. on Friday.

Bello says he's relieved council made the decision to have a byelection.

“It shouldn't be the decision of ten councillors, “ says Bello. “I think it should always be the choice of residents."

There will be two days of advance voting Nov. 23 and Nov. 25.

The current term of office started Dec. 1, 2010 and goes until Nov. 30, 2014. The next election day for all municipalities in Ontario will be Oct. 27, 2014.